2001 Photo from the Konrad Schiecke collection.
122 W Main St
Elmwood IL 61529
|Record #6452 |
Capacity: 375 seats|
Current Organ: none
| Also Known As: |
Information for this tour was contributed by Konrad Schiecke.
The Palace was built in 1913 as a vaudeville house, then a silent movie theatre going to sound in 1930. It features tin ceiling and wall panels. The third and current owner, Vern Reynolds, has painstakenly restored this theatre to its original look. The auditorium seats 300 on the main level with 75 in the balcony. Room for the concession stand was made by removing a small barber shop next door in the same building. There is evidence of the original dressing rooms in the basement under the screen.
Photos remain the property of the Member and may not be reproduced without the written consent of the Member.
Photos from the Konrad Schiecke collection.
49 KB · 450x338
Return to the top of this page or Return to the main page
Last featured 2002-12-27. Last edited 11/5/2005.