2012 Photo from the Roger Katz collection.
21 Torrington Rd|
|Record #42728 |
Closed: Yes (date unknown)
Current Use: Church
Current Organ: none
| Also Known As: Armory Hall, Colonial Hall|
The First Congregational Church of Litchfield was originally constructed at 21 Torrington Road in 1829. It was then moved down the road a short distance in 1873 when a new church was built in its place. Over the years the former church was used as an armory, dance hall, roller skating rink, and movie theater. In 1929 the new church building was demolished and in 1930 the old building was moved back to its original location to once again serve as a church.
Photos remain the property of the Member and may not be reproduced without the written consent of the Member.
October 2012 photos from the Roger Katz collection.
77 KB · 625x469
73 KB · 625x469
85 KB · 625x469
Return to the top of this page or Return to the main page
Last featured 9/24/2012. Last edited 12/31/2012.