105 N Kanawha St|
|Record #25557 |
Opened: December 31, 1923|
Demolished: Yes (date unknown)
Capacity: 500 seats|
Current Organ: none
| Also Known As: Palace, Palace Playhouse, Curtain Callers Playhouse|
Information for this tour was contributed by Darren Snow.
Opened on New Years Eve 1923 and managed by W.A. Burke, the Palace was informally known as "the shootin' gallery" due to its frequent programming of B-grade Westerns. After a fire, it reopened in July 1924.
In the 1960s, the Curtain Callers drama group presented live entertainment at the renamed Palace Playhouse. Grant Thomas, a theatre operator from Oak Hill, leased the venue in 1973 and ran it as the Towne Cinema. It's been closed since March 1986.
The theatre was remodeled and opened as the Towne on August 10, 1973.
Return to the top of this page or Return to the main page
Last featured 6/19/2005. Last edited 12/26/2021.