Photo from the Columbus Metropolitan Library collection.
1058-60 Mount Vernon Ave|
|Record #19422 |
Opened: April 11, 1914|
Demolished: Yes (date unknown)
Capacity: 589 seats|
Current Organ: none
| Also Known As: Vernon, Comet|
| Previously operated by: J Real Neth Theatres|
Information for this tour was contributed by Columbus Metropolitan Library.
The Vernon Theatre opened April 11, 1914 and remained an entertainment center well into the mid-century. It became the Cameo Theatre on December 2, 1928, and a bowling alley in 1954.
The Mt. Vernon Plaza on this site was approved 2/8/1973 with groundbreaking held 8/4/1977 and dedication by President Carter held 9/24/1978. This theatre was demolished c. 1974-1977.
Photos remain the property of the Member and may not be reproduced without the written consent of the Member.
Photos from the Columbus Metropolitan Library collection.
60 KB · 593x625
Return to the top of this page or Return to the main page
Last featured 2002-12-27. Last edited 3/6/2014.