Dell Drive-In Theatre
5000 SE 29th St|
Del City OK
|Record #18278 |
Opened: May 8, 1948|
Closed: Yes (date unknown)
Demolished: Yes (date unknown)
Capacity: 250 cars|
Current Organ: none
| Also Known As: Bee Gee Drive-In|
| Previously operated by: Barton Theatres, Commonwealth Theatres|
Information for this tour was contributed by Wesley Horton.
The Bee Gee Auto Theatre opened on May 8, 1948, with "Welcome Stranger" starring Bing Crosby and Barry Fitzgerald. On May 1, 1949, the theater became the Del Drive-In. Several sales followed: to Robert Lewis Barton on April 4, 1950; from R.L. Barton to Gerald Barton on July 31, 1953; back to R.L. Barton on June 1, 1960. The last movie ran on October 25, 1959.
The site of the Del Drive-In was on the south side of 29th in Del City, where several fast food restaurants are now located.
Return to the top of this page or Return to the main page
Last featured 10/18/2002. Last edited 8/24/2019.