Kallet Drive-In Theatre
Photo from the 1946 Theatre Catalog collection.
Kasson Rd & W Genesee St|
|Record #13802 |
Opened: April 20, 1946|
Closed: October 9, 1960
Capacity: 800 cars|
Current Organ: none
| Also Known As: |
| Previously operated by: Kallet Theatres|
Information for this tour was contributed by George Read.
The Kallet Drive-In was located on State Route 5, between Fairmount and Camillus and was dominated by a waterfall on the opposite side of the screen tower. In later years, after construction of a CinemaScope screen, part of the top of the side walls were demolished to allow room for the expansion. The waterfall was built in three tiers, over which flowed 3,000 gallons of water a minute. The falling water was illuminated by 28 flood lights. The statue in the pool at the botton was 18 feet high, including the pedestal. The car capacity of the theatre was 800. The projection throw was 208 feet and the original screen was 45 by 60 feet, with the CinemaScope added later at nearly 120 feet. The picture listed on the marquee in these photos is The Major and the Minor with Ginger Rogers. A new larger marquee was constructed in the 1950s and the original one pictured went to the Marcy Drive-In near Utica, NY.
A shopping center was built on the drive-in's location, then turned into an enclosed mall and now is being vacated. Up until a few months ago, Hoyts Cinemas operated a multiplex there, before that Loews has two separate complexes, a twin and a quad. Hoyt's constructed theirs in the location of the quad.
Photos remain the property of the Member and may not be reproduced without the written consent of the Member.
Photos from the 1946 Theatre Catalog collection.
57 KB · 640x453
78 KB · 625x454
42 KB · 625x490
63 KB · 625x424
Photos from the Joe Pfeiffer collection.
50 KB · 625x438
51 KB · 625x414
42 KB · 491x625
56 KB · 625x492
47 KB · 625x479
52 KB · 625x482
Return to the top of this page or Return to the main page
Last featured 1/28/2005. Last edited 8/8/2020.