326 S Main St|
Ann Arbor MI
|Record #13341 |
Capacity: 500 seats|
Current Organ: none
| Also Known As: |
J.F. Wuerth built and opened this movie house on September 21, 1913. The theater was leased to the Butterfield circuit in 1923. It closed for remodeling in 1929, when the balcony was removed and sound equipment was installed. The Orpheum closed again in 1945, but reopened on a part-time basis in 1948 with another new sound system, featuring classic and foreign films. The theater was closed for good in 1957 and gutted in 1960 to be repurposed.
Return to the top of this page or Return to the main page
Last featured 11/28/2004. Last edited 11/28/2004.