Information for this tour was contributed by Daniel Gibbs.
The "big" house of South Baltimore, the McHenry opened in 1917 and closed in 1971. The ex-lobby space has been a McDonalds, a Thai restaurant, and is now shuttered, but the gigantic, 1200-seat auditorium is still around. The seats were removed and, recently, it was occupied by an indoor sports venue, which was a brief success but an ultimate failure. This is a newly-fashionable section of the city ... it wouldn't take much to get this beautiful old movie palace back into service. The plasterwork, proscenium arch, interior domes and even some of the old lighting fixtures are still intact, though painted out in black.
Return to the top of this page or Return to the main page
The content of this website is a research work in progress and is being provided to the public for informational purposes only. As such, articles may contain errors, bias, duplication, or need to be cleaned up. Some documents, images and logos contained in these documents belong to various organizations and corporations. Their inclusion here is for the benefit of the reader and for the benefit of the particular organization, but they are, in fact, the copyrighted property of those organizations. Their presence here does not imply any endorsement of CinemaTour by those organizations. CinemaTour is not affiliated with any cinema or circuit.
© 1995-2023 Vision Entertainment Services. All rights reserved.
cinematour.com :: 0.56 MB :: 5.72 MB