2004 Photo from the Ken Roe collection.
218-22 King Street|
|Record #399 |
Current Use: Community Center
Capacity: 936 seats|
Architect(s): William T. Leighton
Architectural Style(s): Art Deco
Current Organ: none
| Also Known As: Hub Theatre|
Information for this tour was contributed by Ken Roe.
Constructed in the 1890s as Newtown Swimming Baths and Winter Skating Rink it was converted into a department store in the early 1900s. In 1914 it was converted into the Hub Theatre and was re-modelled in 1934 into an Art Deco style cinema by Hoyts architect William T. Leighton. Since closing, and converting to its current use the interior has been gutted.
Photos remain the property of the Member and may not be reproduced without the written consent of the Member.
February 2004 photos from the Ken Roe collection.
75 KB · 625x469
78 KB · 625x469
Return to the top of this page or Return to the main page
Last featured 1/14/2006. Last edited 1/14/2006.